Thane Mayor Varsha Marathon
July 18, 2010

2010 - Thane Mayor Marathon

Thane Marathon is a uniqueinitiative taken by a city municipal corporation. History goes back to 1989,when 21 years ago this initiative was pursued by prominent people in Thane andwas supported by Mayor of Thane. Historically Thane Mayor Marathon is conductedgenerally in monsoon. Recently 21st Thane Mayor Marathonwas conducted on 18th July 2010. Maintaining trend ofoverwhelming & enthusiastic response, over 32,000 athletes participated inthe event. Participants were belonging to age group of less than 12 to seniorcitizens.

Observing a exciting & competitive participation during 21 Kms ofMarathon for all categories,DeepakKumar from Central Railway was 1st in male categoryand Vijaymala Patil fromwestern railway was 1st in female category in 15km run. Deepakkumar completed 21km distance on 1Hr 10 min, 50 sec. and Vijaymala completed 15kmdistance in 1Hr 46 seconds.

Paras kumar from western railway was runners up inmale category where as Rajashri Patil was runners up in femalecategory.Total prices distributed for various categories were Rs. 5 Lakhs.Deepak kumar received Rs. 51,000 while Vijaymala Patil received Rs, 35,000 cashaward.This event received support from leaders from all political parties andleading personalities in Thane. Thane Marathon is a joint effort ofThane Municipal corporation and Thane District Association. Marathon started atsharp 8.30 in morning and participants of all age started run with objective tocomplete marathon including senior citizens.



Related Documents
rolex replica sale | rolex replica sale | replica watches uk | rolex replica uk